Home / Blog / Smilelove Review 2022: Does It Really Work?
You are currently viewing Smilelove Review 2022: Does It Really Work?

Smilelove sells teeth aligners online just like any other company, but they actually care about their customers more than many. If you have an issue with the services you receive, they try to rectify the problem as quickly and efficiently as possible. They take pride in the quality of service they deliver.

Aside from customer service, their impression kits include two sets of top and bottom trays to ensure you get a good impression (this company is considered one of the best invisible aligners provider). I think that is important. Some people may still encounter problems, but having two is better than just one in your kit. In addition, you pay the same price as you would with other brands that only supply one set per kit.

After stopping offering services due to the COVID-19 outbreak and relaunching the brand shortly after, Smilelove is out of business. You will see that the website is still operative, but you won't be able to purchase any alignment plan. If you have any concerns or requests, please contact them through their phone number (1 (844) 211-7744 ) or email ([email protected]).

Disclosure: Links on this site may receive a commission, this does not affect the price you pay and help us cover the costs of running this website.

A Unique Step That Others Don’t Offer

Most online teeth aligner companies refund the cost of your impression kit(s) if they determine you do not qualify for their clear aligners. However, Smilelove takes it a step further and states that you can also get a refund if you ARE approved but do not like the projected results you will receive.

How is that done? Once they approve you for their teeth aligner program, they create 3D images that represent what your teeth will look like after you complete the program. Many times, the outcome is magnificent when the aligners are used as directed, but every person and every situation is unique. You may qualify for the program but only see some improvements upon completion. That is why you get 3D imagery. It is there to show you what can be achieved. Most companies provide those 3D images, but Smilelove says you can have your money back on your impression purchases if you are not satisfied with those predicted, pretreatment results.

Striving to Deliver Excellent Customer Service

As previously mentioned, Smilelove strives to deliver great service for every patient, even if they have to “swallow their tongue.” What do they actually do? Every situation is handled on a person-by-person basis. No, you cannot take advantage of this, but they do try to resolve the problems as efficiently and as easily as possible.

No company is perfect and you cannot please everyone either. Therefore, this is not any different from what other companies have to deal with, but it is how they handle it that makes the difference. One way they do it is to be aware, to care, and to respond fast. Smilelove strives to respond as quickly as possible. In fact, they review their Facebook page quite often to see if anyone needs assistance or a solution. This little extra step makes the biggest difference because people recognize it and that leads to consistent growth for the company. Take care of your valued customers and they will take care of you too—by referrals, feedback, and more. Just try to remember that some messages may get placed in your spam folder when communicating by email. Some people have complained about response times with a variety of companies so I fell it was worth mentioning.

SmileLove Website
customer service SmileLove
get started smilelove

Pricing

Upfront Fast Track Kit

The complete package Includes everything in one purchase, including the impression kit, clear aligners, one set of retainers, and a whitening kit for only *$1895.

Aligner Impression Kits

Smilelove impression kits are free and come with 2 pairs of impressions.

Invisible Aligners

Their online invisible aligners cost *$1,895 but that additionally includes one set of retainers and a whitening kit. Payment plans are optional (100% Approval Financing with 0% APR) and start at around $79 per month for 24 months, using Affirm—a third party financing company.

Retainers

Smilelove provides free with your clear aligners purchase.

Whitening Kit

First premium whitening kit is free with your invisible aligners and then they are just $49.99 per kit. Optional subscription orders include a discount.

Duration

The length of the program depends on your particular situation, but the average time span is around 30 weeks, wearing one set every two weeks.

Availability

Smilelove sells clear aligners online to US residents only.

Overall Experience

Since every person’s smile has different needs, the duration of the program and the design of the clear aligners will vary. The first, initial aligner set will feel the most uncomfortable in many cases, but the next one makes it a little easier. The further you go with the program, the easier it gets because the aligners do not need to force your teeth into position as aggressively.

Aside from what to expect with your aligners, it is nice that you can get a full refund on your impression kits or even the entire package when you do not qualify for the program. That’s good to know because you don’t want to spend money on a gamble with the hopes that you will be accepted into the program. If you cannot purchase aligners, you will not be out any money.

On another note, Smilelove likes to offer sales from time to time. In those “windows of opportunity,” you can take $300 OFF Aligner Bundle and FREE 1-Year Teeth Whitening until December 4th! If there happens to be a sale on retainers, it would be wise to buy several so that you have them as needed after you have completed your aligner program.

As for quality, they want to help people improve their smiles without altering normal appearance. Therefore, they use ultra clear aligners that are barely noticeable and they seem to outrank many other brands on the market. You can’t always get the best of both worlds—comfort and invisibility—but you can come close with Smilelove.

Website Link

www.smilelove.com

 Smile LoveCandid CoByteSmile Direct Club
Free Retainers1st one Free ($95 per set)
1st one Free ($99 per set)
YesNo ($99 per set)
Payment PlansYes (6,12, & 24-months through Affirm, 0% APR, possible down payment)Yes (as low as $99 for 24 months) through Affirm®, 10-30% APR, possible down payment)Yes (as low as $62 for 36 months)Yes ($300 down, $115 for 24 months)
Insurance AcceptedYesYesYesYes
Other Payment OptionsYes (FSA and HSA)Yes (FSA and HSA)Yes (FSA and HSA)Yes (FSA, HSA and CareCredit®)
Cost: Impression Kit or Digital ScanRetainers are FREE$95 per kit$95 per kit$95 per kit or 3D scan
Cost: Aligners$1895$1895$1850$2700
FreebiesPremium whitening kit, aligner case with aligner purchasePremium whitening treatment with aligner purchaseBrightByte 3-in-1 Teeth Whitening Foam, HyperByte Vibration Tool and Aligner CasePremium whitening kit, aligner case with aligner purchase

Pricing and information are subject to promotions and adjustments. We cannot guarantee accuracy.

How Smilelove Works, Step by Step

Smilelove has a similar format to almost everybody else, but the process is a standard operation for all companies by default. You answer questions on the website to determine if invisible aligners are right for you. You then proceed to order your impression kit. After that, you order the aligners and then you finish up with your retainers. It is a straightforward process from start to finish.

Step 1: Answer the Questionnaire on the Website

The first step includes answering a multiple-choice questionnaire online. This helps you determine if a clear aligner program is right for you and your needs. It is an optional step, but a good one nonetheless. Just click the “Let’s See” button towards the top of their homepage to get started.

Step 2: Order your Impressions Kit

Once you decide to get the process going, you order an impression kit. When you receive it in the mail, follow the directions as instructed. If you do not use their suggestions, you may end up with unusable impressions so take your time and read carefully. Luckily, they provide two sets in their impression kit to ensure you get the opportunity to get it right.

Step 3: Return the Impressions to the Company

After you follow the instructions in your impression kit, repackage them and send them back. Once you have done that, you wait for approval.

Step 4: Order Your Invisible Aligners Online

If the assigned professional orthodontist or a team of orthodontists approves you for invisible aligners, you can simply approve the program and then place your order. If you originally purchased the Fast Track Kit that covered all items in the program, you can just approve the process and they will start making your aligners. When they are finished, they will ship them to your door.

Approval is always required because you need to review your 3D images that show what your results will be like in the end, as well as approve the treatment schedule they established for you.

Step 5: Order Retainers

When you complete your aligner program, you will need to use retainers for a while to ensure that your teeth stay in place. Otherwise, they could return to an unsatisfactory position. Smilelove provides the first set free.

Final Results: Smilelove Before and After

Not only are Smilelove’s invisible aligners hard to notice due to their excellent level of transparency; they produce great results when used as directed. Many customers have been satisfied with the results they received from their personal aligner program and you most likely will too. In some cases, the orthodontist may suggest a new treatment package or simply extend your existing one. However, most customers do not need to. Below are some images from Smilelove that display customer results after completing their clear aligner program.

how it works smilelove
before and after smilelove

Whether you suffer from a malocclusion of teeth or spacing problems, Smilelove presents an opportunity to realign those teeth and bring back that beautiful smile. Crooked teeth can also be repaired by gradually realigning them and bringing more of a balance to your mouth. They will customize your aligner program to what your teeth require to look great and to what you need to smile in style.

How Much Does Smilelove Cost?

Individual pricing information is listed above for each product in the process, but we’ve done the math for you to make it easy to research and decide. Smilelove offers a couple freebies in their aligner packages as most companies do, but they also run periodic promotions that can save you even more money. In addition, you can purchase the Fast Track package that covers everything and saves a good “chunk of dough” for other things.

As a complete package, the Smilelove impression kit, invisible aligners, and retainers cost a grand total of $1469, not including extra retainers or extra whitening kits. We did not include those because the need varies based on the customer, whether they get them elsewhere, choose not to use them (a whitening kit), or only need a few. Smilelove now offers a Fast Track Kit that includes everything up front (impression kit, aligners, one set of retainers, and one premium whitening kit for yellow teeth), which saves you money. In Fact, the price of the upfront package is equal to the cost of the aligners themselves, which is $1895.

If you can’t afford an upfront purchase, Smilelove offers third-party financing through Affirm. Payments start as low as $78 based on an amount of $1895. The cool thing here is that they allow you to take advantage of the complete package pricing through financing too!

Get Your Smilelove Invisible Teeth Aligners At Home

Rather than spending a fortune at the orthodontist, you can have the orthodontist come to you, metaphorically speaking. Instead of regular dental checkups that add up, expensive invisible braces, and repeat visit fees, you can have two fixed-price fees. Buy an impression kit, send it back, wait for approval, and purchase your aligner package. That’s it! They will send your aligners to your door and you wear them as instructed until you complete the program. Why travel when you do not have to? The remote orthodontists are registered and approved, not to mention experienced. Just follow the instructions as planned out and you will have that beautiful smile you have been wanting.

*Pricing is subject to promotions and adjustments. We cannot guarantee accuracy.

Jeannene
November 9, 2018 (NV, United States)
Read More
“Highly recommend this company, for their expertise, professionalism, product and customer service! Worth every penny! Thank YOU SmileLove!”
Barbara D.
November 7, 2018 (TX, United States)
Read More
“The customer service experience was prompt, helpful, and sincere. They really go out of their way to help out their customers. I highly recommend! The aligners were uncomfortable the first week only because I needed to get used to them. After that they were fine. Painless and easy to use.”
Christie S
November 6, 2018
Read More
“Amazing! I would never use another clear aligned brand out there and that’s the truth! This is the second family member that’s used Smilelove and we are very happy with the results!
Trent
July 9, 2018 (UT, United States)
Read More
“As someone who hates going to any sort of medical office it was great to have an option like Smilelove. Like many others growing up I didn't wear my retainer long enough after braces so my teeth had shifted over the years. After a really easy initial setup with molds, I had the trays and then 6 months later my teeth are back to where they should be. Yes I didn't get a spider ring from the orthodontist but it was worth it.”
Ann D.
March 14, 2019 (United States)
Read More
“So convenient. No orthodontist visits and 1/3 of the way into the process my smile is already improving. It's a bit annoying taking my SmileLove aligners out to eat food or to drink coffee, and my teeth definitely hurt on the first few days of each new set, but that means they're working. Highly recommended.”
Previous
Next

My SmileLove™ Clear Aligners Timeline

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

SmileLove Smile Assessment for Invisible Aligners

I clicked on the Smile Assessment link on their website to determine if I was a possible candidate for Smile Love clear aligners. It provided images and asked me to select the problem that applies to my teeth (diastema, crowded teeth, or just minor issues needing improvement). It also wanted me to rate my teeth movement on a scale of 1-10. In addition, the aligner assessment included a few other basic questions and had a comment box to describe in more detail what exactly I wanted to change.

smilelove smile assessment

As I filled out the assessment, I skipped the comment box and did not submit a picture. But in the end, it still stated that I was a candidate for SmileLove clear aligners and provided my payment options. The options included the Kit First Plan, the Monthly Plan, and the Fast-Track Bundle Plan. Do note that I am not approved for clear aligners as of yet. This assessment only served as a “validator” to see if I was a candidate for teeth aligners. Just wanted to point that out!

Started My Clear Aligners Journey

To get the ball rolling, I decided to go with the Kit First Plan that I mentioned above. I chose the impression kit starter package over the full package or the financed package because I didn’t want to dump a bunch of money into the teeth treatment program before knowing if I was qualified to order the impression kit. Besides that, I didn’t really have the money for it.

More Thoughts on the Post-Assessment Package Options

It does cost more when choosing the Kit First Plan because you pay for the impression kit rather than having it included in your package. However, you can get your money back if you don’t qualify for invisible aligners or decide that you don’t like the results of your aligner plan. I surely didn’t have *$1699 (reg. *$1895) at the time to dish out and I didn’t want financing that would raise the final cost. That refund guarantee on impression kits is actually available for any plan you choose though. But as I said, I didn’t have $1699 to use so I was fine spending the extra $79. It was on sale from $99.

Monday, May 7, 2018

Received My SmileLove Impression Kit

The impression kit that I ordered on the previous Tuesday had arrived at my door. SmileLove states that it can take up to a week to receive the impression kit and mine arrived on day 6. The package contained two sets of upper and lower molding trays to create my teeth impressions. It also included detailed instructions and the putty to use in the trays. One cool thing that I liked was that they ALSO included practice putty. Yup, they splurged on that one! I haven’t heard of any other company that provides practice putty with their impression kits, although it is possible. It included a prepaid shipping label to return my impression and photos that were also required.

smilelove impression kit timeline

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Completed My Impression Kit and Sent It Back

I was busy Monday so I thought I would give this impression thing a try on Tuesday. I followed the directions for both the photos and the teeth impressions. I was glad that they provided the practice putty so I could deliver precise molds of my teeth. As for the photos, I followed the detailed instructions that came in the package and used the mouth stretcher to get the best pics I could. After all, I wanted to take this task seriously so that they can provide more accurate 3D image models and more precise aligners if I get that far. After all, I’m spending the money (soon) for the aligner package and I want the best results I can get for the money!

I packed everything up and sent it back with the provided packaging and the prepaid shipping label. Now I just had to wait for a reply and hope for the best. Do note that some people may need new impressions created if the dental professional decides that your impressions as unusable. It can happen but I didn’t have to deal with that.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Got My Response on Aligner Approval

I was getting worried at first but realized that I can take up to 2-3 weeks for a response on my impression kit. In the end, it took 10 days which wasn’t bad. They sent me an email that included before and after 3D images of my teeth. I was scheduled for 6 months of aligners.

Ordered My SmileLove Aligners

Since I was approved for treatment, I went ahead and placed my order online. If you remember my chosen payment option that I discussed earlier, I have to pay $1699 for my aligners. At this point, I had enough to pay outright so I did. Now, I just had to wait for my teeth aligners to get delivered to my home.

Wednesday, June 14, 2018

Checked on My Aligner Home Delivery

26 days have passed and I have not received my aligners yet. I emailed SmileLove and they didn’t respond until Monday. They said that they have a surge of aligner customers right now and that I would be receiving my aligners within a couple of weeks. They also mentioned that it takes about 5-6 weeks to get your aligners after completing your impression kit order. If I look back, that would be May 8th that I placed my impressions kit order which tallies out to 5 weeks and 1 day so far.

Monday, June 25, 2018

Aligners Delivered To My House

The delivery has arrived! It took 6 weeksSmilelove Review 2022: Does It Really Work? 1 and 6 days from the date of my impression kit order. This falls outside of their specified 5-6 week timeframe. In any case, I was still happy to receive my aligner package. I opened it up to see what was inside. I read that they ship you all your aligners at once and include a protective aligner case, a removal tool to use if or when needed, a pack of chewies to better seat the aligners, a file to adjust the aligner edges when experiencing discomfort, and 1 set of retainers. Everything seemed to be there so I was good to go. I read on the smilelove.com website that they also give you 1 free premium teeth whitening kit after completing your aligner treatment program. You’ll see how that went towards the end of my timeline.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Started My Aligner Treatment

I had a very busy schedule on Tuesday so I planned on starting my aligner treatment on Wednesday. I installed the first set of aligners and felt uncomfortable. However, I knew that they would be hard to adjust to in the beginning so I kept at it.

After about 4 days, I got used to the feeling of having them in. When it became time to install the 3rd aligner set, I felt a little discomfort once again. I contacted SmileLove by phone since I wanted a faster response and didn’t know when they might get back to me. They told me that it was perfectly normal to feel the discomfort with every new aligner because it is designed to shift your teeth gradually and requires a snug fit. That explains why the discomfort was disappearing a few days later.

I told them that my second set did not do the same thing and they said that it doesn’t always cause discomfort because your aligners are customized to your particular needs and your previous aligner may have shifted your teeth enough to prevent discomfort for the next set.

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Halfway through My Aligner Package

So far, I managed to make it through the halfway mark successfully. I had a few “hiccups” where I forgot to replace my aligners, as well as losing one of them back in July. Apparently, it is perfectly fine to lapse a few days without causing any harm, as long as it doesn’t carry over too long. As for the lost upper aligner, SmileLove said to use my next aligner since it was due in 5 more days.

At this point in my treatment plan, I have made progress with my teeth alignment. They are looking much better but still have a ways to go. I neglected to mention that my treatment was for gaps. At this point, my teeth appear to be closer together but not straight just yet. If I keep up the good work, I hope to achieve that great smile I have desired for so long but couldn’t afford $8,000 at an orthodontist.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

My Next Progress Check

On this Tuesday, I took a closer look at the teeth-aligning results I had received to that point. It had been 18 weeks and 5 days, which amounts to about 4 months and 3 weeks, and that totals to about 9.5 biweekly aligner treatments. If I did the “estimated” math right, that would leave approximately 1.5 months left to go! That is why I wanted to check in with my smile. It was getting closer to the end of the aligner treatment period.

How Was My Teeth Alignment Working?

As I reviewed my progress, it appeared to me that my teeth spacing had only changed a little bit since the last check I did at the halfway mark. That made me a little nervous. However, I kept on going and trusted in their professional experience and knowledge with teeth alignments. However, I know that results are based on the patient’s teeth aligner management and usage abilities, as well as genetics. I also know that there is room for miscalculations and that nobody is perfect. Anyhow, as a sneak-peek into the future of this timeline, it seemed that my teeth started shifting more aggressively as time moved forward. That means that my alignment plan was working just fine!

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

The Final Day of My Aligner Treatment

Hip Hop Hooray! I made it to the final day! At this point, I reviewed my progress to see how I finished my aligner program. The results were very close to the 3D images they provided during the impression period. Some people may see different results in which case they would need to purchase a few more aligners. Luckily, I didn’t need it since I was satisfied with my smile.

December 13, 2018

Free LED, Premium Teeth Whitening Kit

After I successfully completed the aligner treatment, they emailed me a coupon to redeem for a FREE premium teeth whitening kit. Since you are probably tired of reading, if you made it this far, I will just mention how cool it is right here instead of adding another date to the timeline. It comes with a blue LED lighted device and a mouthpiece. You simply use it regularly to whiten your smile. You can order them for $49.99 or set up a subscription to save 15%.

smilelove teeth whitening

Friday, December 14, 2018

Started Using My Retainers

After a long-winded adventure with my aligner treatment, I decided to give my smile a break for a day. I took the last set of aligners out on Wednesday and enjoyed the freedom on Thursday.

Actually, I fell asleep that night.

On Friday morning, I inserted my free set of retainers over my teeth since you are supposed to wear them 22 hours a day for the first 2 weeks. After that, I wore them to bed every night as instructed and continue to do so from here on out. After all, retainers are an important step if you want to keep your “hard-earned” smile.

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Living Beyond My Aligner Treatment

This date in my invisible aligner timeline is just here for kicks. Happy Holidays!

Actually, I was glad that I got started with the clear aligner process when I did because it turned out to be just in time for the holidays.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Ordered SmileLove Retainers

Wow, what a jump in the timeline! Really, this is just here to represent the day that I ordered my retainers. I needed another set and forgot to order some in advance, but the original “free” retainer carried me over just fine. I DO recommend that you consider ordering a second retainer to go with the free one that you’ll receive in your aligner package. You don’t want a lost retainer affecting your timeline… I took that chance and luckily made it through the whole 6 months.

Final SmileLove Aligner Review for My Treatment Period

In closing, my aligner treatment seemed to have turned out fairly well. I had some hiccups but SmileLove helped me get through with helpful information. However, I didn’t like the length of time it took to receive my aligners, but it DID fall not too far from the specified time frame. Emailing support can be a hit or miss at times but I cannot make a valid statement since I only sent them 1 email 1 time. I only saw comments from others about it. But that time I emailed them did take 4 or 5 days to get a response. However, that counts the weekend. Calling them seems to generate the best response in any case. Their predictions for my smile turned out to be pretty accurate but it can vary from person to person. I know some people said that they didn’t get the results they wanted. Overall, most customers were and are satisfied with the service they received. I can safely say that I am one of them on that list!

There are other options you can be interested in:

Written by The Teeth Blog Team

Choosing the best teeth aligners online, toothbrushes or whitening kits can be a confusing and difficult process, especially when there are so many options out there that you begin to lose your mind. That's why we have created this blog, to test all the different option and give users our honest opinion and try to help you with your decision. The Teeth Blog Team is joined by a group of teeth enthusiasts who loved to try and review all the dental products they find. So they thought it was a great idea to make a blog and share all their knowledge, making it easier for everyone looking for honest and objective reviews of dental products.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.